What is a 100m race?

There is perhaps no event in athletics that captures the imagination of the world more than the 100m race. The all-out sprint to the finish line is a gripping demonstration of raw speed, power and reactions that so often becomes the defining moment of a championship.

What time does the 100m start?

All rounds of the men’s 100m take place at the famous Hayward Field stadium in Eugene, Oregon. And if there’s one thing you can say about this track - it’s notoriously fast. The preliminary rounds of the competition begin on 15 July at 12:30pm, with the heats - where the biggest names in the sport will begin their campaign - following at 18:50pm.

Who won the 100m backstroke final?

Russian swimmers Evgeny Rylov and Kliment Kolesnikov have finished first and second respectively in the men’s 100m backstroke final. American Ryan Murphy, who won gold in the event at the Rio Olympics in 2016 and holds the world record, collected bronze. US men had won six consecutive Olympic golds in the event before the Tokyo Games.

Who won the 100m breaststroke at the Tokyo Olympics?

Great Britain’s Adam Peaty celebrates after winning the 100m breaststroke on July 26. (Davis Ramos/Getty Images) Great Britain’s Adam Peaty has won the men’s 100m breaststroke at the Tokyo Olympics. Peaty, the defending Olympic champion and world record holder in this event, swam a time of 57.37.